The National Heritage Centre for Horseracing & Sporting Art
The National Heritage Centre is situated in Charles II’s sporting palace and stables and spans five acres in the heart of Newmarket. It comprises three complementary attractions; a new National Horseracing Museum, a National Art Gallery of British Sporting Art, and a chance to meet former racehorses and learn what they do after racing, in the flagship home of Retraining of Racehorses.
The National Heritage Centre at Palace House is result of over ten years planning, building and fundraising to become the biggest new attraction to open in Suffolk in the last decade. Supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund, Forest Heath District Council, Suffolk County Council, The Wellcome Trust, the Racing Industry (including the Jockey Club, Tattersalls, Weatherbys and the Racing Foundation) as well as many private trusts, foundations and individuals from the world of horseracing and beyond, the project is an important example of partnership across the public and private sectors.
kindly supported by the HBLB.
Discover and meet the heroes of racing themselves – the racehorses!
The Rothschild Yard has been returned to its former glory to stable former racehorses, showcasing the work of the Retraining of Racehorses charity to illustrate how thoroughbreds can be re-trained effectively for a successful life beyond horseracing. Twice daily demonstrations will take place, including in the Peter O’Sullevan Arena for the Welfare of the Horse. Check our website for more details of the resident horses and daily demonstrations
Monday – Sunday 10am – 5pm
Children (5-16): £9.60
Children under 5: FREE
Family (2 adults & up to 4 children): £40.00
Concession (students & seniors): £15.50
Discounted ticket prices on groups of 15+
Tickets purchased directly from Palace House can be converted into a 1-Year Pass, giving 12 months’ complimentary admission to the site.
1-Year passes are valid from the date of purchase and are non-transferable (terms & conditions apply).
Brief History of the Site
Palace House – the site on which the new National Heritage Centre for Horseracing & Sporting Art is located, was originally built as a sporting palace for Charles II, a monarch whose passion and pioneering ideas for racing and breeding is still enriched in the sport 350 years on. William Samwell, a gentleman architect who helped define the architectural style that was fashionable after the Restoration was commissioned to build the Palace in 1668 to 1671. It remained in the Royal Family for another 150 years – regularly used by the reigning monarchs.
In 1857 the Rothschild family acquired Palace House and the racing yard and made many improvements to the palace and the stable yard including building an additional yard. Four Derby winners were trained from Palace House Stables under the Rothschild’s ownership, including Macaroni trained by James Godding in 1863, Kisber trained by Joseph Hayhoe in 1876, Sir Bevys trained by Joseph Hayhoe in 1879 and St Amant trained by Alfred Hayhoe in 1904.
The last trainer to occupy the Trainer’s House and Palace House Stables from 1965-1985 was the legendary Bruce Hobbs, who made history by winning the Grand National himself in 1938 at the age of just seventeen.
A: Palace House, Palace Street, Newmarket, Suffolk, CB8 8EP
T: 01638 667314