Series Young Producer Award

The RoR Young Producer Award is presented to the player/producer the committee judge to have made the greatest contribution to retraining of racehorses in polo.

2018 Winner

Winner - Jim Fewster

2017 Winner

Winner - Mark Baldwin

2016 Winner

Winner - Richard Le Poer


The Young Producer Award was the vision of the current RoR Chairman Paul Roy, to recognise young producers willing to invest in the raw material of very young (usually two & three-year-olds) former racehorses and spending two or more years retraining them as polo ponies.

These horses are taken from racing, and are re-trained to do rapid changes of speed and direction, stopping and turning on a sixpence with a Polo mallet waving past their heads. Taking these horses on is a big financial risk for young players, as it takes some time to know which of these horses will take to polo.

For players and producers to be eligible for this award, they must be under 25yrs years of age on the 1st January 2019.